Last night I was reading the book Lost Opportunity for my Political Science 240 class. The book covers the reasons why economic reform failed in Russia. I guess its fair to say as the book acknowledges there was no way economic reform was going to succeed in a environment where all forms of the market economy had been thoroughly destroyed. Russia is not what it use to be after the fall of the Soviet Union. Although the United States has its occasionally problems with Putin, he has his own problems to deal with mainly making sure the Russian economy doesn’t become stagnant.

This is probably a good time for me to give my take on the US economy. It is clear we are in a recession, people are scared to invest their money, and people don’t have the money to be avid consumers. The underlying problem in my opinion is the fact the US government did nothing to invest in intellectual and capital infustructure. The billion of dollars spent in Iraq could be spent training people for the new challenges of the 21st century. The US technology sector will soon become dwarfed by countries like India, and Taiwan. Manfucturing has already left our soil to China. As an engineer I wonder how much international experience I’ll need to have to operate in a worldwide market. I probably should brush up on my Madrin.

In other news I have alot of electrical and computer engineering homework and test to take before the end of the year. I still want to visit Europe early in the summer if I can.

Leave a Reply

