Gas Prices

So I’m spending downtime at home in Miami. My first week at Motorola is finished 11 more to go. I guess the first thing that’s been frustrating me lately is gas prices. I drive a long way back and forth between my internship. Its so disheartening when I put 40 dollars into my Honda Accord (Letting my dad drive the truck for a few months) and it only reaches half tank. I want to know why oil companies are making record profits while everyone is a getting a raw deal. I was listening to NPR and they said that most of the land that US oil companies have to permission drill in the United States have been untouched. Yet they still argue that they need more land. They complain that Alaska needs to be open to more drilling. Its all BS, if you can’t see through greed then you a very stupid. The thing I don’t understand is why we don’t get a better deal on oil when Cheney and Bush have both been in the oil business. Cheney clearly gives preference to Halliburton which he was the CEO of which controls many US contracts in Iraq. Google Cheney and Halliburton, and see what you get. To slap us in the face Halliburton moved its headquarters to Dubai to avoid paying US taxes.

If you read this weeks article in the NY times, Teeth Gritted, Drivers Adjust to $4 Gasoline. You’ll see that more people are getting rid of their gas guzzling cars and turning to small cars. I really believe a lot of low-middle income Americans are going to suffer to fill up their tanks. I was talking to my friend Mohamed we both agreed when I get a sports car someday when I’m working at Microsoft or Google, I’ll need a Prius to drive around town, and the use the sports car sparingly. Such is the life we live in the US now.

Article:

Nytime Article

If you can’t read this everyone can register for a free nytimes full access account with their illinois.edu email, or whatever university you go to, like Jeff, and Luciana. gatech.edu etc..

Leave a Reply

