Finished at Moto and Some Advice

I’m finally done at Motorola. I emptied out my cube, and packed my belongings into a cardboard box, turned in my badge and said my goodbyes. I guess, I was a little sad to leave the company yesterday.

I tend to get emotionally attached to people and places, and things I suppose. My view into corporate America was an interesting one I learned a lot, but I also had a lot of fun. Most of the people I got to work with were smart, good hearted individuals. I have no regrets, I’ll always be grateful to the company and my boss for the opportunity.

But I do have some general advice I’d like to give you. No one is ever going to come up to you and tell you to do something unless you take the initiative. So for me, I asked as many questions as I could, and I wanted to learn as much as I could about Electrical Engineering as a profession. I read as many company documents as I could. Took free training, networked, and tried to beat the expectations of a first year intern. I will say this I did learn one important thing, you have to like what you do, and put your heart into it, or otherwise your not going to be very good at it.

At the risk of sounding narcissistic, most of you that know me well, have come to realize I hate settling for second place. I want to be the best at what I do, I want people to come and say oh yea that kid Shawn Adderly he was one of the best. I admit I don’t always work as hard as I should, but I try my best. So for now Motorola, I bid you farewell.

Leave a Reply

