My Values

This blog post might be a bit dull, long and confusing. I know many people will miss the point or not care about these things, but I think everyone should at least contemplate some of these things.

In my value system honesty is my most important value, I like when people are truthful and open and listen to me. I avoid people that are putting on an act, I can usually see through this. Regardless of anything people have to say about me negatively or positive. I have repeated this many times before I believe in treating people with respect and dignity. However I admit, you know I’m not perfect and sometime like every person I don’t judge myself against my own standards, such is life, that should not surprise anyone. I make mistakes from time to time.

The second most important thing to me is my concern for others. I would say around 11th grade I became captivated by the idea of public service and transforming the way people think about something. If we think about our daily lives, there are so many things that have enabled us to live more fulfilling lives than if we were born in the 1900s, and these things have changed our view of the world, and consequently our quality of life has increased. In an aside, to my trip to Europe last summer, I can agree with some of the European work ethic. As Americans we work harder than the rest of the world. Sure, we accomplish a lot, but we also spend more time at work, or in traffic than with people we love and care about. American ingenuity is strong, and and alive and well despite everything that is happening in our economy, we always come back no matter how bad of a situation we are in.

At the end of the day, if I lose out on certain things, because I decided that I wanted to do what I felt was right, that is just the way it is. I refuse to sell what I believe in. I also refuse to step to that lower level that I feel people go to from to time. I have always have been a non-conformist for better or worst, maybe it cost me a gf sure. But I’ve gotten to do what I love, and I’ve met a lot of good people that have helped me along the way. I think that is my secret to why I get to do the things I do, because I listen to people and I take their advice, I’m nice to them. I go to people routinely for advice that are older than me that have been in the situations I am in. I know a lot of people that have beat whatever adversity they were facing, and there is no reason for me to believe I can’t either. I also think I spent a lot of time getting to know people from a wide range of backgrounds, rather than concentrating myself in one particular activity at the University. I am disappointed with the people that decided not to try and take advantage of everything this wonderful University has. I myself have still not done enough.

I had a interesting conversation tonight on nuclear and wind energy. I’ll discuss these things another time.

Leave a Reply

