Dork, Nerd, Geek?What?IDK

U of I recently did a study on why girl’s did not want to pursue careers in Computer Science, they came to the conclusion that some girls feared being labeled nerds and geeks. Well, what does being a nerd really mean, how do you differentiate between a nerd, a dork, and a geek?It is quite simple actually. A nerd is someone who is very smart academically but can’t do anything else, these people are never able to move up in a company, or end up as boring professors. A dork is someone who can be awkward at times, not necessarily smart, but is clumsy. A geek on the other hand is someone who is really passionate about something. On one hand you have the geek chic. defined as a girl who wears black rim glasses, and buys clothing from threadless.com. OK it’s my definition of a good looking geek-chic Asian girl (Sharon is still a 10 though) .

OMG-SW? You might be asking. Well these three words define who we are, there is a certain stigma attached to being an engineer. I mean how funny, some of these people are so brilliant yet so under appreciated. Darn. I guess it is true, sometime people get caught up with what they do.
I mean I do sure I was told I’m too not obsessed with pop-culture enough. I’m not jerk enough, therefore that makes me boring. SO, I thought eh OK what do I do? I gotta take care of this?

Clothing yea, OK I probably should get stylish I’m working on that. Glasses eh?I like my glasses, they suit me, black rim frames of course. What do I talk about LOST, House?My favorite two shows no engineer gets time to watch TV? Photography I’m passionate about that, I like to write. Maybe I’ll just become a journalist and write for the times now that’s a thought life in the big apple?But I don’t really want a full-time gig. I learned to nod and smile, and avoid the questions of substance.

But what am I? I dunno maybe I’m a bit of all three, is that bad?!?Who knows?

Today, will be a particularly busy day there’s a lot of things I need to work on. I hope I can get a lot of things out of the way. I hope you enjoyed this.

Leave a Reply

